​​


About
Mathaf Encyclopedia

Mathaf Encyclopedia of Modern Art and the Arab World is a bilingual, peer-reviewed online resource providing free in-depth information on modern and contemporary artists from the Arab world. The Research and Curatorial team at Mathaf have commissioned scholars and independent researchers to author Encyclopedia entries​. ​ Read more​​​

Featured
Video
Recent
Biographies ;
View All

  • Marwan Kassab-Bachi
    Born in 1934 in Damascus, Marwan Kassab-Bachi was a Syrian-German painter, who is mainly known for his treatment of the human face. He left his country of birth in 1957 to study in Berlin and remained in that city until his death in 2016.
    Read more
  • Ahmed Morsi
    Ahmed Morsi is a contemporary Egyptian artist who combines painting and Arabic poetry in order to deal with universal themes of existence and isolation, as well as dreams and the subconscious. Morsi was born in Alexandria.
    Read more
  • Mohammed Racim
    Born on 24 June 1896 in Algiers, Algeria, Mohammed Racim is considered one of the first Algerian painters. From a family of artisans, Racim first discovered Islamic miniatures while working as a draftsman in the colonial-era Service of Indigenous Arts.
    Read more
  • Abdallah Benanteur
    Born on 3 March 1931 in Mostaganem, Algeria, Abdellah Benanteur is known for his modernist paintings and artists’ books. Benanteur studied at the School of Fine Arts in Oran, Algeria, before moving to Paris, France, where he continues to live and work.
    Read more

​​​​​​​من نحن​

تعتبر موسوعة متحف للفن الحديث والعالم العربي مورداً علمياً مُدققاً حول الحقائق والمعلومات المُعمَّقة عن الفنانين من العالم العربي وهي متاحة للعموم على الانترنت باللغتين العربية والانجليزية. بادر فريق البحوث والتقييم بمتحف ​منذ بدايات نشر مشروع الموسوعة في عام ٢٠١٣​ بتكليف مجموعة من الأكاديميين والباحثين المستقلين بكتابة سير مرجعية​. اقرأ المزيد

 فيديوهات مختارة

 سير الفنانين المنشورة حديثاً

  • مروان قصاب باشي

    مروان قصاب باشي رسّام سوريّ ألمانيّ من مواليد العام 1934 في مروان قصاب باشي رسّام سوريّ ألمانيّ من مواليد العام 1934 في دمشق، عُرف بشكل خاص بمعالجاته الفنّيّة للوجه البشري. غادر مسقط رأسه إلى برلين لمتابعة الدراسة في العام 1957 ولبث فيها حتّى وفاته في العام 2016.اقرأ المزيد

  • أحمد مرسي

    أحمد مرسي فنّان مصري معاصر يجمع الرسم والشعر العربيّ في أعماله التي تعالج موضوعات كونيّة عن الوجود والعزلة والأحلام واللاوعي. ولد مرسي في الإسكندريّة ونشأ متأثّرًا بالأوساط الفنيّة بين مسقط رأسه على ساحل المتوسّط ومختلف العواصم اقرأ المزيد

  • محمد راسم

    ولد محمد راسم في ٢٤ حزيران/ يونيو ١٨٩٦ في الجزائر العاصمة، الجزائر، وهو يعتبر من أوائل الرسامين الجزائريين. ابن عائلة من الحرفيين، اكتشف راسم في البداية المنمنمات الإسلامية عندما كان يعمل رساماً محترفاً في مديرية الفنون الأهلية خلال الفترة الاستعمارية. تمزج اقرأ المزيد

  • عبد الله بن عنتر

    ولد عبد الله بن عنتر في 3 آذار/ مارس 1931 في مستغانم، الجزائر وقد اشتهر بلوحاته الحداثية وكتبه الفنية. درس بن عنتر في مدرسة الفنون الجميلة في وهران، الجزائر، قبل أن ينتقل إلى باريس، فرنسا، حيث استمر في الإقامة والعمل.اقرأ المزيد